nodding & smiling

ceci n'est pas un bébé lala

Puberty

Leave a comment

Beauties on the beach, 2011

Beauties on the beach, 2011

I started puberty early, as did my girls. Mean boys called me “Wonderbra” in grade 5, even though I spent the better part of my time trying to conceal the fact that I was wearing a bra.

When it came time to have the talk with my elder daughter, I thought I handled it pretty well: Years later I learned that I left out a VERY IMPORTANT DETAIL: I never told her that her period would end. That’s right: I didn’t say, “don’t worry – it only lasts 3-5 days”.  The poor kid thought she’d bleed forever from that day on! No wonder she was devastated.

Ugh.

So with my second daughter, I had an opportunity to redeem myself. Had the same talk, presented the same useful books, and was super-clear about the fact that her period would both begin, and end, monthly. She asked questions, wasn’t embarrassed, and has practically worn out the books since then.

The problem?

My younger daughter was SO open and comfortable with the subject that she decided to impart her newly-acquired knowledge to her (very religious) friends.

“Hello [mother of friend 1], this is Natalie, Katherine’s mother? Yes. I’d like to apologize for her impromptu sex-ed tutorial at yesterday’s playdate. I understand that you’re pretty upset…”

Facepalm.

Author: natalie

Although full of opinions, I often find myself nodding and smiling. Don't you? Doesn't mean I agree. I'm just being polite.

Leave a comment